Dates revealed for when garden waste will finally be collected across Cardiff


Dates have been revealed for when garden waste will finally be collected from homes across different parts of Cardiff.

Garden waste will only be collected every four weeks starting from Tuesday, September 7.

The service used to be offered every two weeks, but this summer it suffered from long delays and missed collections.

Read more: Roadworks to reopen Cardiff’s Castle Street to private cars set to start

Cardiff council blamed the problems on a shortage of HGV drivers due to Brexit and the coronavirus pandemic.

But the new move to monthly collections should hopefully mean garden waste is now picked up on scheduled days.

Garden waste collections will begin on the following dates:

  • Creigiau, Pentyrch, Radyr and Morganstown on Tuesday, September 7
  • Llandaff North and Llandaff on Wednesday, September 8
  • Rumney and Llanrumney on Thursday, September 9
  • Tongwynlais, Rhiwbina and Lisvane on Friday, September 10
  • Ely and St Fagans on Tuesday, September 14
  • Canton on Wednesday, September 15
  • Roath and Butetown on Thursday, September 16
  • Penylan on Friday, September 17
  • Whitchurch and west Heath on Tuesday, September 21
  • East Heath, Cathays and Gabalfa on Wednesday, September 22
  • Trowbridge and Old St Mellons on Thursday, September 23
  • Llanishen and Cyncoed on Friday, September 24
  • Caerau and Fairwater on Tuesday, September 28
  • Grangetown and Riverside on Wednesday, September 29
  • Adamsdown and Splott on Thursday, September 30
  • Pontprennau and Pentwyn on Friday, October 1

Dates for each area can also be found on the council website: cardiff.gov.uk/gardenwaste, or on the Cardiff Gov app.

Garden waste can also be brought to recycling centres at Lamby Way and Bessemer Close, for residents with access to a car.

More changes could be on the way to garden waste collections, depending on the situation with Covid-19.

A council spokesman said: “Given that Covid cases in Wales are once again on the rise, we will continue to monitor the situation and will advise residents of any changes to collection schedules in due course.”

Liberal Democrat Councillor Emma Sandrey said residents in Pentwyn—the last place in Cardiff scheduled for a collection—would have waited for almost two months for their garden waste to be collected.

She said: “I think people would be more sympathetic if the council acknowledged the disappointment and inconvenience this causes rather than treat it like a public relations exercise.

“By the time they come to Pentwyn it will have been nearly two months since the last collection, which was around the beginning of August.”

Sign up to the CardiffOnline newsletter for all the best stories every single day here





Source link